5 comments on “Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage- book review

  1. Interesting choice for a first Murakami, glad you liked it though in my humble opinion I think it doesn’t compare to Norwegian Wood, The Wind-Up Bird Chronice, and Kafka on the Shore. If you have time even read 1Q84.

    The prose style of Colorless Tsukuru was definitely very nice. But ultimately, somehow, it wasn’t enough for me.

    Do you plan to read more Murakami?

    Like

    • I chose Colorless Tsukuru because it was the most recent one and I thought the plot was interesting. I’m not a big fan of magical realism and supernatural elements so wasn’t too interested by some of Murakami’s other novels. I do plan to read more of his books so I’ll look to try at least one of the books you listed. Indeed, Colorless Tsukuru was good but wasn’t that fulfilling.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

