Beijing- Juyongguan Great Wall photo roundup

More pictures of the Great Wall at Juyongguan. This site features a fort (see above) and several buildings in a valley with walls extending on both sides snaking up the hills.

Those are small antique cannons.

A highway runs through the wall below, while several tour buses can be seen in the parking lot left of the main gatetower/fort.

Inside one of the guard towers. Nothing inside but these sparse brick walls and arched doors.

The back of the main entrance, with souvenir stands at the bottom.

A rail filled with locks along part of the wall.

These are the Mongolian performers at the “restaurant” we went to that night. The round tents in the back each have one table for dining so this place – 99 Yurts – was obviously a Mongolian-themed restaurant. The main dish was roast/BBQ goat, which was the best goat meat I’ve ever had. It was quite tender and succulent, not stringy like normal goat meat I’ve had for hot pot.


One thought on “Beijing- Juyongguan Great Wall photo roundup

  1. Well done ! You are so brave and adventurous! These are great pictures of the Great Wall! Which reminds me… I should go through my India pictures and post some. Having read this I thought it was rather informative. I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this article together.

    I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worth it! In return, I also found a great blog of Great Wall travel tips, I’d love to share it here with you and for future travelers. http://www.wildgreatwall.com/which-part-of-the-great-wall-is-the-best-to-visit/

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.