Uncategorized

It’s very long but worth reading, if only to understand how beleaguered the newspaper industry is, at least in the Western English-speaking world, and why paying for access is a necessary choice. The writer shows how much of a newspaper’s expenditure printing a physical newspaper uses up, uses that to argue for a paperless newspaper and then presses for readers to pay. Paperless is the only way for a newspaper to offer a viable product, instead of a skimmed down one, which is worthy enough for readers to want to pay without question. I still find it hard to fathom not having a physical newspapers, but I’d be a hypocrite if I didn’t say I don’t read most of my news online, and that I don’t pay.

Leave a Reply

