Uncategorized

One of the really good things about doing all these book reviews for my newspaper is that sometimes I get some unexpected gems out of selections that I didn’t think I would like or would even be interested in. Snow Falling on Cedars is a recent example of this, because I chose to read and review it only because I had to- the selections that month were pretty weak. I’d heard of it before, and the movie based on it that was released in the nineties, and it didn’t really appeal to me in any way. The story takes place in a little island off of Washington state in the U.S. in the fifties, concerning a murder trial of a Japanese fisherman accused of killing another fisherman. From that, I didn’t think I’d enjoy reading it but I did. The novel is incredibly well-written, as the mood, the physical setting and the emotions of the characters and place are vividly described and captivating. Yes, it was a bit explicit in some parts, but the rawness just added to the experience.
It turned out to be a really good read. Here’s my review on it.

