13 comments on “Cambodia travel- On to Siem Reap

  1. Seam Reap is great! I don’t know if I would call it bustling, but perhaps it’s developed a lot the last few years as tends to happen in Asia (of which I recently wrote~)

    Angkor Wat is most definitely beautiful.

    Like

    • Yeah, I should have said relatively speaking, compared to Phnom Penh or perhaps, my modest expectations. It was definitely really nice and not too extravagant or trashy.

      Like

    • Hey, thanks. I think Cambodia is safe to visit alone, especially Siem Reap. I don’t think there’d be any problem going to Angkor Wat and the main temples during the day by yourself as there are a lot of tourists, drivers and locals around. I’m not a woman, but I think the main thing is just to be aware of surroundings and not be in isolated areas alone. Phnom Penh seemed safe enough, though I went to the genocide sites with a driver. The main things to be wary are pickpockets and beggars, though they’re not aggressive or anything.

      Like

  2. Perfect timing – we leave in 6 weeks! We’re doing some volunteer work while there and will no doubt visit some local schools. Is Siem Reap large enough that I’ll be able to pick up notebooks/pens/pencils at a store in town, or would you recommend I carry them in my luggage?

    Like

    • Bobbi, that’s really good. Would these be schools inside Angkor or outside? There are a few schools inside the park, and the staff at one of them was kind enough to let us come in and use the bathroom.

      I don’t know for sure but I think you can get those there. There are definitely supermarkets and stores.

      Like

      • Thanks for that, I think I’ll buy the supplies in Siem Reap. We’re spending a week planting trees at a new conservation area (cambodiawildlifesanctuary.com ), prepping for retired logging elephants. :o)

        Like

Leave a Reply

